Your Dad is Dying

I share an 8-year-old boy with an awesome dad. Biologically, our son is his only child. Words can not and will never be able to describe how much my son’s dad loves him, and how much my son loves his dad in return.

Every single morning, his dad calls to tell him good morning, have a great day and how much his “daddy loves him”. Every afternoon, his dad calls him after school to see what he learned, how his day went and to tell him how much his “daddy loves him”. Every evening, shortly after the sunsets,  the phone is ringing. Everyone already knows who it is, so no need to check the caller ID. We  just hand the telephone over to the littlest boy because we all know that it’s his dad.  No if’s, no and’s, no but’s about it. His dad MUST tell him goodnight, that he’ll call him in the morning and he most definitely has to always end the call with “daddy loves you”.

Those were the last words that we heard from him, this past Sunday evening, as the littlest boy had turned on the speakerphone, in order to talk on the telephone and play the video game simultaneously.

“Daddy loves you!”

When I heard him say that, my thoughts were, “He ain’t lying! He really does love him…..always has!”

How do you tell an 8-year-old boy that he won’t have that anymore? How do explain that, that has now been taken away? No more phone calls! No more pictures! No more spending time together! None of that! No more!

How can I ask my innocent little boy to get out of the routine of having his daddy call him EVERY SINGLE DAY (without EVER missing a beat) if only to utter the words, “daddy loves you”?

We’ve never known the whole “clinging to life” situation. Nor has death been this close to us before. I’m being forced to explain, “You’ve done nothing wrong. It’s not your fault. That how’s life/death is. You’ll get to see him again, one day.”

If that’s not unfair, I don’t know what is!

Thank you for all of you who have prayed for different results and/or our comfort during this time. We are truly grateful.

10 Comments

Filed under blogging, children, Life, mommy blogger, Motherhood, Mothering, Parenting, Uncategorized

10 responses to “Your Dad is Dying

  1. I hope that you can sympathize with your son, as well as his father the situation… I also will give you my love from a far

    • I most definitely can. I was prepared to have to console him endlessly, but to my surprise he’s being his cheerful self. He’s not upset or sad. He has asked me several questions and I gave him truthful responses. Actually, he’s being strong is helping me hold it together. Thanks so much for your comment and for sending love.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear this. Death is not easy to understand at any age. I recently read something that maybe you can share with your son when the time is right… “Stars are actually holes in the floor of heaven, where the light of our loved ones shine down to let us know they are there.” Maybe when he sees the stars each night he will know his dad is still sending him his daily messages. :)

    • That’s absolutely beautiful! I am definitely sharing that with him, sooner rather than later. Thank you, thank you, thank you. My boy is not much of a sharer or talker. He observes, thinks and reflects, so that’s absolutely perfect for him. I’m so appreciative for your comment and insight. Thanks again!

  3. Your son was so blessed to have a father who cared and loved him so much. I pray those memories stay with him forever.

    • He is definitely a lucky boy. His dad loves him more than anything. Not many ever get the chance to have that. I also pray that the memories will always be his. Thanks so much for your kind words.

  4. I am so sorry–no words can make something like this easier. How great that his father was able to create such amazing memories–so many of us don’t take the time to really be present in our children’s lives–even when we live WITH them.

    • Thanks for the comment. I’m truly grateful. He definitely had one of the world’s best dad’s and he had eight years of memories that’ll last a life time. For that, I’m eternally happy. He’s starting to talk about what happened and we’ve been reminiscing too! Thanks again!

  5. You have a wonderful upbeat way of facing up to life. I’ll have to returnn to learn from you.

    • Thanks so much Sandra! I’m trying….really, really trying. Every single it’s a challenge. I’m so appreciative for your dropping by and leaving a comment! See you soon!

Leave a Reply

