Sometimes being Selfish is necessary

PEACE and Serenity

When it came to making the decision to transport my children from Michigan down to Houston, I had absolutely no doubt that I was making the best decision for them and myself. I did take into consideration the fact that we would be far away from all of our family and friends, and all that we’ve ever known. In order to come to grips with the idea of relocating, it was necessary for me to take off my “Mariann” hat and jump into “Mommy” mode. In the end, the pros of moving overwhelmingly outweighed the cons of staying put in Detroit. It was absolutely a NO BRAINER! Instead of doing what would be easier, less messy and more convenient, I opted to place the well-being of my children ahead of all else, and moving became my official number one, atop my neverending list of things to do.

Littlefield was the only permanent address that I ever had in Michigan. It was the home, block and neighborhood where my brother and I grew up. It was the house where I bought all four of my children to from the hospital. It’s the place where my only friends reside. Detroit is where I left someone, who I could’ve seen myself possibly being with for the rest of this life (that’s huge for this self-dubbed loner). I sacrificed all that I’m comfortable and familiar with, because that’s what a mother does.

We’ve been here for three weeks and it’s been the best consistent three weeks that I’ve known in a long time. It’s been filled with a calm, peace, easy breathing, grounding, relaxation and happiness. My decision has caused lots of tears (mainly happy ones!) to be shed and I’ve even been referred to as being “selfish”, admittedly that one had been bothering me, that is until I came to grips with the fact that it’s okay and sometimes even necessary to be selfish, especially when you’re doing it for all the right reasons!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Sometimes being Selfish is necessary

  1. Christy Dyson

    I like that Mari! Change is always good, you can’t always be content in where you’re at. There’s a lot out here to experience, and leaving a place where there is nothing but poverty and sadness it is well worth it. It time to move on to next phase of your life, Happiness!
    Love
    Christy Dyson

    • Thanks Cuz’in! I know that you know personally what I’m up against, seeing that you did the exact same thing. The only thing that I’m grappling with (and I know that I shouldn’t be…because it’s not my issue) but how can you describe one as being selfish when they’re doing what’s best for four other people, in spite of yourself?!? Giving my children the best opprtunities, in order to be successful is all that truly matters, and Detroit offered absolutely no opportunities. I’m extremely happy with my decision, and wouldn’t hesitate to do it again! =) Thanks for commenting. I’m eternally grateful!

      Mari

  2. Sulena

    More power to you. You did not let anyone cloud your thinking. You have the opportunity to use your degree-somthing you have worked so hard for.
    GOD BLESS you and yours and remember to always put GOD first.
    Love Mom

    • Thanks El (My Momma!) for the comment….
      I know that I don’t always say it and don’t express it nearly enough, but you’re the best mother that a Gal or anyone could ever hope for! You’ve always had faith in me, even when I had no more faith in myself. You’ve never wavered or doubted. You’ve always maintained a firm stance, and for that I’ll ALWAYS and eternally be grateful. Just hold on and all of the fruits of your labor vested in me shall be sown! =) It’ll all be well worth it!!
      LOVE YA!

      I’s LOVE My Momma!!

  3. Sharlynn Cannady

    I commend you for stepping out of what is known as your comfort zone to do what is best for and your family. I do not believe that is being selfish at all. Some of us, use fear and it blocks us from reaching our potential. I am not a mother, but I can see your point in wanting and offering opportunities for your family. Stepping out on faith gives a wonderful testimony of how God moves in our lives. I will say that I am being a little selfish. I wish I would have gotten the chance to see you and your family before you left Detroit! But I am so happy that you are happy. I thank you for sharing your thoughts with your readers

    • Hi Shar! Thanks so much for the sweet compliments and for the faithful reading! I also wish that we had the chance to connect with before our departure, but know that you ALWAYS have a place where you can come visit! Who knows, you might wind up becoming a Texan too! =) Your support is definitely appreciated and it doesn’t go unnoticed!
      PEACE and many Blessings to you!

  4. Amy A

    Children are happiest when you are.

    They are also very mobile. We moved a lot growing up, and I had to make new friends all the time. It made me who I am today, and I wouldn’t change a thing. In the end, you’re choices are always going to be what’s best for your kids — you just can’t help it.

    • Thanks for the comment Amy. As I look back at majority (if not all) of the decisions that I’ve made since being the mommy, I do see that I made those decisions with my children at the forefront of my mind. I’ve always taken myself and my comfort out of the equation and have placed their interests above everything. I’ve never seen that until just recently when people have started pointing that out to me. Right now, this is where they’re happiest and it’s where we’ll be until that changes! Thanks, again! đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

