Homeschooling: End of Week Numero Uno!

Still trying to figure out who signed me up for this! Upon arriving at my new home in Texas, I had NO IDEA that I’d be solely teaching my youngest son his academic curriculum this school year. This was so UNEXPECTED, yet it was so necessary. After being in school for less than a week, my youngest son’s teacher called me to set up a meeting, in regards to his academics. I was expecting to be told that my son is a lazy reader, and that he’d be receiving additional help in that particular area. What I wasn’t expecting was to be told that he needed to be placed back in the second grade.

As one whose deeply involved in the educational system, I would have never drawn these conclusions after having a child in my classroom, for such a short period of time. Instead of hitting the parent with such devastating news, I would have first notified the parent that I see “potential academic problems” and then made several suggestions. I would have asked for constant reinforcement of the daily lessons,  I would have provided material where I felt the student could use strengthening. I would have informed the parent that the state test is held at the last of November and before then we could conduct our own test and from there make “our” OWN decision as far as academics are concerned. My first suggestion wouldn’t be to put the child back in the previous grade.

After pondering over their recommendation, I decided that my son would be better educated this school year in our home. I officially withdrew him from the school and today ends our fifth day of home instruction. So far so good.

I now have a point to prove. Next year when I go enroll him back in the same school, I’ll be sure to have them test him first because he’ll definitely be far more advanced than their fourth graders! Can you say, “eight year old fifth grader”?

Although homeschooling was not in any of my plans, it’s something that I must do. It’s just another one of the many sacrifices that us, Mothers/Parents are faced with on a constant and daily basis.

The point of this post really is to remind parents that no one knows your child/ren better than you. You don’t have to allow anyone to force you to put your child into their little well labeled stereotypical boxes, and then that’ll just be it. You as the parent have the final say so, and you’re always going to do what’s the absolute best for them. Don’t allow anyone (especially these textbook teachers) to have you second guessing what your instincts tell you.

Look for weekly updates on our homeschooling adventures! =)

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Homeschooling: End of Week Numero Uno!

  1. Home schooling is unquestionably an awesome journey and additionally can easily help bring you very close with each of your children, appreciate it friend a whole lot for giving your story, it will help to pass on the word so additional families can certainly become closer!

  2. I enjoyed this post. I am a grandmother now (of 2 granddaughters, ages 7 &11). However, when my daughter was in school back in the mid to late 1990s, she experienced conflict at school, which prompted me to pull her out and homeschool her through high school. It was the best decision I ever made. We as parents, grandparents, caregivers of our children must wake up to the fact that we are our childrens’ first teachers, and know what is best for our children. The school system today across the nation is not working, and I think and have thought for quite some time that homeschooling was the best avenue! Wishing you much success in homeschooling your son.

    • Thanks for the comment and well-wishiing @ natjames1. You’re absolutely right when you say that as a whole the entire American public school system is NOT working, at best it’s sub-par! When you truly look at it, as a whole, our American children are so far behind and they won’t be able to compete on a global basis, if the entire system isn’t completely revamped and the standards are raised! When I put my older two children back in school, after homeschooling them for only one schoolyear, they were so far ahead of their peers (practically two grades levels)!
      What I’ve come to realize is that, only when the parents rise up and DEMAND that they re-work the educational system, then only then will it get done! We have to stay on the administrators and the government, or else our children will be the ones who’ll suffer! Thanks again for the comment, I truly appreciate it! =)

Leave a Reply

