Scatterbrain

I reached my mid-30’s sixty-five days ago exactly and I have a feeling of lostness that I’ve never felt before, not even in my younger adolescent years! I’m questioning everything. Am I a good mother? Did I make a mistake moving, and moving so far away? Should I move back home?

I’m starting things and I’m not finishing them. My book is the prime example of that. My mind is running a hundred miles an hour. That’s probably why I’m unable to contribute anything significant to my novel! I’m not even finishing any of  the complete thoughts that our loitering about my head. I’ve never felt like this before and I have no idea of how I should deal with it.

My mind is cluttered. My car is cluttered. My bedroom and closet are in a total disarray. My purse is quite empty, too! The only stuff I carry around in there are things that are quite insignificant! All of these things are a direct reflection of my life and my mind. I’m truly wondering if I’ve somehow grown into being ADD. Is that possible? Lately, I’ve been hearing a lot about Adult ADD. Self diagnosing: I have all of the symptoms! YIKES!

I’ve been the epitome of health my entire life, and I sure don’t want that to change now! My gut is trying to tell me one thing, but I can’t (or don’t want to) focus long enough to look into the matter with my doctor!

I guess what I’m hoping is that I’m just still going through the rough transitional phase of relocating, as well as the stress of raising three of my four children completely on my own. I just want to be told that I’m overwhelmed and that all of this madness will soon pass. This is my last attempt to make some sense of what’s going on with me, before getting a medical diagnoses. Any thoughts? Suggestions? Similar experiences? Please share.

2 Comments

Filed under Adulthood, Aging, Family, Life, Parenting, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Scatterbrain

  1. You are overwhelmed and this will all soon pass. Feel better? Lol, just kidding! Seriously though, I believe that’s the truth. You’ve been through a big change and that takes some adjustment. There are some times I feel like I am totally ADD, I get so easily distracted – especially if there is a lot of clutter in my life. I find it helps to clean up the clutter – in my car or my house – because it’s like my brain ‘feels’ as messy as my home ‘looks’, and it really does help my mental world if I can get my physical world tidied up, somehow. How about your diet? Are you eating healthy, or just grabbing junk food since you’re busy? I think that makes a difference. It will get better!

    • LOL! Your comment has made me feel better. =) You’re absolutely right. If you we tidy up the physical world, then our mental world’s will reflect that. What I’ve done is just that! I woke up and I cleaned up. I folded and organized all my clothes and shoes. I scrubbed down my kitchen, shredded all the unnecessary rubbish and straightened up the living room! After I was done, I stood and took it all in and I PROMISE I started feeling a WHOLE lot better! I do have to work on my diet, though. I cook pretty healthy meals everyday. But since I work from home, I snack ALL DAY! I devour the kiddies snacks (poor babies!). I’m going to go get some fruit and healthier snacks, so when I feel the urge to over-indulge in the snacks, at least they’ll be healthy ones! I’m on my way to getting back to how I use to be! So relocating definitely is a huge task to undergo, and I also think it has a lot to do with how I’ve been feeling…I’ll definitely give it more time before I go seeking out the meds! Thanks for your comment/advice!

Leave a Reply

