Earbuds + Teens = Irritated Mother!

Straight to the point! The most annoying thing in the world is my oldest boy walking around with earbuds tucked deep down into his ear wells! What’s even more annoying is when he has them stuck in there and I don’t know that he has them on, due to the HUGE hoodie that he’s been wearing these last couple days.

Irritating Earbud Incidences:

#1

He was putting on his shoes preparing to leave out the front door for school, and I knew there were no more breakfast bars in the pantry. I grabbed a box from my secret stash spot (that’s a whole ‘nother story) while asking him if he wanted one or two. No answer.

I’m three feet away from him, holding the bars in my hand and I’m asking him, “Do you wanna take these to eat on the bus?” No answer.

“Do you hear me?” No answer.

He opens the door and just starts walking out, as if I’m not standing there and haven’t said a word! Then it hits me! He has those fricking earbuds on! I literally had to flick the light switch off and on. That he got his attention!  “Huh?” I just held up the breakfast bars for him to see. He declined and went on to catch the bus to school. From the window I watched as he bopped his way to the school bus!

#2

My oldest gal came to me and blamed the littlest boy for locking the bathroom door from the inside. I told her that the oldest boy was in there. She said he wasn’t (she knocked and called out his name) and the littlest boy confirmed that the “earbud wearer” had gone back outside. Me not knowing, figured he must have slipped passed without me seeing (I was on the computer….so that was very possible). Well she went and worked her magic of getting the locked door unlocked. Once unlocked, to both her surprise and the surprise of the “earbud wearer” the bathroom was indeed occupied! There the “earbud wearer” sat, firmly planted on the toilet. He hadn’t heard any of the knocks, nor the calling out of his name, all thanks to the earbuds meshed into his ears! Meanwhile, she’s scarred from seeing her brother take care of his bathroom business atop the toilet stool and he’s still wearing these earbuds non-stop!

I could go on and on, I can’t even remember how many times I walked into the room and he’s in there and I’ll start talking. I’ll go on and on and on with no comment from him, only to look over and realize that the music pumping through the earbuds have drowned out everything that I just said. How many times have I had to repeat myself because he’s like, “Huh? Huh? What you say? You talking to me? Did you say something?” (BLANK STARE)

Here’s the real kicker: The oldest boy has now requested that I buy him a pair of “Beats” headphones by Dr. Dre. (another BLANK STARE) He’s so serious, too!

4 Comments

Filed under Family, mommy blogger, Motherhood, Mothering, Parenting, Raising Teenagers, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Earbuds + Teens = Irritated Mother!

  1. I find that when the breakfast bar hits them in the back of the head, I get their attention.

  2. Sharlynn Cannady

    Your story is so familiar and so true! It is also scary. I would be afraid someone would walk up on me, because I was distracted by the loud music.As for the Dr. Dre head phones—Good Luck!!

    As always, I enjoy reading your blogs.

    • It is dangerous Shar! I remember my mom always told me (back when we had headphones) never to wear both of them over my ears, especially if I were off walking by myself. Not to long ago a self-defense expert said the same thing while on the Oprah Show. You need to be aware of your surroundings and can’t do that when music is blasting in your ears. Surprised that I didn’t think to tell him that! Thanks for the comment…..as always! 😉

Leave a Reply

