Working from Home, Not My Cup of Tea, Not for Me!

*Disclaimer* Please forgive any grammatical/spelling errors. Spell/Grammar check’s not working…for whatever reason. Enjoy!

I’ll be the first to say that I thought working from home was going to be the BOMB! Not only was I going to be in complete control of my work schedule (which is HUGE to me), but I was going to be home with my youngest two children. Ultimately that means I wouldn’t have to hire a nanny or find a daycare facility to put them in, and if you’re a working parent, you know that, that’s a very big deal~ no childcare expenses! I was going to be completely hands on!

I thought I had it all figured out! I’d start doing my work on the computer by 7:30, answer calls from my consultants and customers up until noon (during this same time, the youngest boy would do his homeschool lessons) then off to do some marketing for an hour or two (great thing is, the kiddies can ride along with me…..ususally this leads into nap time). My work day would end by three (with the exception of taking occassional calls from customers and consultants), dinner would be going by four, etc, etc., etc. by seven-thrity eight o’clock I’d be on my way to relaxing!

Well needless to say, pretty much none of my plan came to frutition. I haven’t once started work by 7:30, the boy hardly ever starts and/or complete any of his homeschool lessons before I’m ready to go marketing. My work day definitely ends by three, Baby Zayah makes sure of that, with her non-cooperating agenda! As for dinner, if it’s not a meal that I put in the slow cooker the night before or the morning of, it’s not making it into the oven by four (that has yet to happen). By 7 o’clock I’m on a WARPATH! I’m fussing, cussing and enraged! Relaxing? HELL!

Every single day has been chaotic, disorganized and pretty much unproductive, since I started working from home. Usually by the end of the day, the two youngest kiddies have pushed every single button that I possess and my patience for the older two (by the time they return home from a day at school) are nonexistent! They catch the brunt of my wrath, when they haven’t even done anything to deserve it! Our home is in complete and utter diasarray! By bedtime I’m always exhausted and I’ve accomplished very little with my days. With all of that being said, I’m returning back to working outside of the home! For all the reasons that I stated above, “No! I don’t feel guilty about changing my mind!” I gave it the “good old college try”! I’m happily returning to the rat race!

I care nothing about now having to hire a nanny. In fact, I’m looking forward to paying someone top dollar to come in and take care of them, even on my off days! I’m looking forward to having a weekly work schedule. I’m glad that I’ll have co-workers, someone to talk to and have lunch with during the middle of the day, that’s not a minor who needs me! I’m ecstatic about having my life (that exists outside of the home) back!

Final word: I figured out the hard way, that working from home with children roaming in and out of your work space, is not for me. It’s not an easy or light task. One has to be truly disciplined and organized. I am neither and  I accept that! I now know that I need to miss my children, just as they need to miss me, in order for us to appreciate each other!

So back into the workforce I happily go!

6 Comments

Filed under blogging, children, Family, mommy blogger, Motherhood, Parenting, Raising Teenagers, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Working from Home, Not My Cup of Tea, Not for Me!

  1. thesavvyfreelancer

    I must say I understand your pain. Working from home is not as easy as the commercials make you believe or as you would simply think on your own. That view of sitting in your pj’s, cup of coffee in hand and working away at the computer and making money from home is all a fake hope. Working from home often is harder and more unobtainable than working from a regular job.

    • I have to say that I’m in agreement with you (thesavvyfreelancer). When I decided to work from home, that’s EXACTLY how I pictured it: sitting at my laptop at the island, in my ‘jamas sipping away on cappuccinos! LOL! Too bad it’s closer to a myth rather than reality! Thanks for the comment….I truly appreciate it!

  2. I am so glad I am not alone lol 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the comment x4kiss! Actually, I was wondering if I were alone because I hear so many people who just LOVE working from home and being able to interact with the kids all day everyday! I sure wish I knew their secrets to making it work! Thanks again!

  3. I think working from home has been about 1,000 times harder than working outside the home *ever* was! Now, when my husband worked from home, he had an office – with a DOOR – and I took care of the chaos swirling around the rest of the house, all with my own desk smack dab in the dining room. My husband has since gone back to working in an office with others and at first he would call and say “Man, I can’t get used to everyone else milling about the office, talking and joking and generally distracting me.” All I said was: Welcome to my world. 😉

    • @ Stacey LOL! I likes that! Now he knows exactly what you have to deal with! I hear that you are suppose to have a designated office area and that you’re suppose to have a well planned schedule, in order for that workstyle to flow and be effective! Are you still working from home? Have you taken over your hubby’s office? I may give it another shot, in the future! Thanks so much for the comment…sorry for taking so long to respond! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

