Single Motherhood: My Perspective

Let me start by saying that I am and have been in a relationship for an extended amount of time with the same person, with whom I have children with, but since we aren’t legally married I categorize myself as being a “single mother”. With that being said, I’ve been a mother for nearly sixteen years and there hasn’t been a single time that I didn’t live up to my end of the bargain when it comes to being a parent. I’ve never ran away from my responsibilities, never tried to push my responsibilities off on someone else, never neglected nor attempted to act like my responsibilities didn’t exist.

I’m that mother who doesn’t live this life through my own eyes. I don’t make decisions based on what I want. Before making any decisions I look at what effect that decision is going to have on each of my children. Their wants and needs come before my own and definitely before anyone else. I believe most great and exceptional parents, parent in this manner or in a very similar manner. It less about self and more about supplying our offspring with the absolute best tools in order to be successful and have a very enjoyable life. Now do we deserve any credit for that? Nah. I’ll be the first to say, we don’t deserve any special recognition or pats on the back for doing what we’re suppose to and signed up to do. However, I do say that because I’ve never negated my parenting duties and since I’ve been fully engaged from day one, I have all say so when it comes to my children. I have earned the right to NOT confer with ANYONE when it comes to them and their well-being. I have any and all rights as they pertain to my children. I feel absolutely no obligation to inform, notify or co-parent with an absentee person.  I think it’s absolutely CRAZY and makes no sense to report my business and my child’s business to an individual who is not engaged and not participating in their life! Am I wrong? What’s your perspective? Share. I’d love to have this conversation.

3 Comments

Filed under blogging, children, Family, mommy blogger, Motherhood, Mothering, Parenting, Raising Teenagers, Toddlers, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Single Motherhood: My Perspective

  1. serenityluv1

    I agree with you. I am the same type mom. Since my divorce my husband barely spend any time with the kids unless you count his nosey phone calls. Those are only to check up on me. So why would I want to pick up the phone and ask him his opinion on anything, shit he don’t know enough about the kids to give me an informed opinion. So no I wouldn’t feel obligated to care how he feels about anything.

    • So do you make all decisions concerning the care of your children, and whatever else arises based solely on your discretion? Does he verbally express that he wants and should be included?

      • serenityluv1

        Yes. He has expressed his opinion in the past and I ignore his ass completely. He doesn’t spend enough time with them to make any decisions! Paying Child Support does not qualify him to get those rights either

Leave a Reply

