Is This What Envy Feels Like

My entire life , well for as long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted to the best! No exception. I had to have the biggest and I had to be the best. Nothing that even closely resembled failure was welcomed anywhere near me. I wouldn’t accept anything less than the best. I credit my brother with inspiring me to take on this mindset. My brother was always so smart, effortlessly. He was good at every single thing that he did, effortlessly. He was just a natural at being the best. I used to want to be just like him. I had to work at being smart and all that, but I worked and I did it.

That’s pretty much my background. Now what I want and need to know is this, does that kind of determination and mindset tend to skip a generation? How did my brother and I end up with it and my kids (with the exception of Baby Zay, we don’t know about her yet, since she’s still so young) not get even a teeny tiny drop of it?

Thus far, my children care NOTHING about being the smartest in their class. They don’t care about getting good grades. They could care less about being at the head of their class. None of that matters to them.

I’ve tried everything to motivate them to get better grades. Rewards. Punishments. Taking away of ALL electronics. Isolation. Still Nada!

In the meantime, my classmates from high school get to login to Facebook and show their kids off! They get to brag that they’re kids are on the honor roll, the Principal’s list, the National Honor society and blah, blah, blah, blah. I’m left wondering, is this what envy feels like?

4 Comments

Filed under blogging, children, mommy blogger, Motherhood, Mothering, Parenting, Raising Teenagers, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Is This What Envy Feels Like

  1. serenityluv1

    Well hun don’t beat yourself up about it. You can’t do the work for them. All you can do is your best.

    • It’s become so embarrassing. I try to say to hell with it, but I hate to lose, therefore it’s so hard for me to just let it go! UGH!
      I just don’t get it. How are you cool with failing?

  2. serenityluv1

    Dont give up on them. Stand firm dont give them anything extra and tell them if they repeat that grade they will repeat the same clothes, shoes and all.nothing new. Now I say that but I know it very hard to do.

Leave a Reply

